FIND HRTV In Your Area   About HRTV   SHOWS   Facebook     Twitter     Pinterest


An outstanding panel of 10 judges has once again been assembled to review and select winners from Santa Anita and HRTV’s second annual non-fiction documentary “A Day at the Races” Film Festival.

All submissions are a maximum of five minutes in length and a complete review is currently underway, with winners to be announced on Sunday, April 14.

Headed by film star and current CHRB board member Bo Derek, the panel also includes: noted producer of the top-rated Big Bang Theory, and Thoroughbred owner, Kristy Cecil; Hall of Fame jockey Mike Smith; Santa Anita Chairman Keith Brackpool; Santa Anita President George Haines; the first-ever Ms. Racing Queen, Tatiana Schoeppler; HRTV Director of Brand Management Carolyn Conley; Thoroughbred trainer, and also known for his work on Seabiscuit and HBO's Luck, Matthew Chew; multiple Eclipse Award-winning producer and Santa Anita Director of Broadcasting Amy J. Zimmerman; and Santa Anita Director of Community Services and Special Projects, Pete Siberell.

"A Day at the Races" first prize will be $10,000, with second prize at $5,000, while third through fifth prizes will be $3,000, $1,500, and $500, respectively.  An additional $10,000 first prize -- "Fan Favorite Award" -- will be awarded to the winner through an online poll.

Fans may still vote on the “Fan Favorite Award” at

Also new this year, those entries judged to be in sixth through 10th places will receive free entry to the 2014 edition of the competition.

HRTV 24 Hours Bottom Skinny

Follow HRTV

Join friends of HRTV in the social world and share updates, opinions and news!

Web site design and development by
©2012 HRTV. All Rights Reserved.